top of page

CAMAT: NOTHING SPECIAL ABOUT ME; JUST A STUDENT WITH A HEART TO LEAD

Updated: Mar 19, 2019

Gabriel M. dela Rosa | News Editor| September 2, 2018



A month after the elections for the Supreme Student Government (SSG), the newly-elected president, Franz Diego M. Camat of 12 STEM B, was interviewed about his journey towards becoming the head of the school's student council in the Senior High School Reading Room.

At the beginning of the interview, Camat was asked about what motivated him to run for the position of SSG president. He responded: “Ever since in Grade 10, I wanted to run but I was disqualified before. I am here, granted a new chance to run and I said, ‘Why not?’ If running for president is really in your heart or being a leader is really in your DNA, then you have a passion to serve. I’ve studied in the PISQ and I know the needs here in this school. I know that people do really need a leader here...”


Camat was then asked about what he felt before the Miting de Avance. “Before the Miting de Avance, [my party] already felt that we were on the losing side. I just told my team to do our best and tell them the truth — our hearts’ content — and attract the people not with flowery words but with the truth; with what we wanted to achieve and implement...” he stated.

During the election, Camat admitted that he felt anxious. “Pinanguna namin yung confidence namin. I told my party members that we did a good job [during the campaign]. Every day we committed ourselves to bring our party to get people to vote for us and we just prayed, trusting the Lord that He will bring it to pass... good things happen to those who believe in Him. If it is His will, it will happen.”


Right after the results were officially posted, Camat admitted: “It [the result] was very unexpected. I was expecting it to be announced the next day. I was full of happiness and grateful to God.”


He was asked what the first thing that he would do as the newly elected SSG President would be, and he answered: “We’ll keep it a secret for a while. We want the students to wait for our upcoming projects. We’ll announce them during the oath-taking ceremony... our future projects would probably occur and see some changes this mid-September.”


The Antipolo City born Camat was then asked to describe himself: “There’s nothing really special about me; just a regular student with a heart to lead.”


Camat studied at the University of the Philippines from elementary to first-year high school, and at Remington High School in Dubai right after. He served as a Treasurer in his former school, as well as in an organization that helps varsity students and athletes in their studies.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page